CAR to induct new board of directors this month

by Emily Mack

Sarah Ware, Drussy Hernandez, Erika Villegas, Antje Gehrken

The Chicago Association of REALTORS® (CAR) is inducting a new board of directors this month. Sarah Ware, of Ware Realty Group, will take over as president with current leader Antje Gehrken, of A.R.E. Partners, becoming the immediate past president. Replacing Ware, Drussy Hernandez, of Coldwell Banker Realty, will become the new president-elect and Erika Villegas, of RE/MAX in the Village, will serve as treasurer. CAR’s 2022-2023 leadership team is the third in a row to feature all women.

The rest of the board is set to include Rafael Alvarado, of Shield Real Estate, Sonia Anaya, of America Real Estate, Inc., Gaspar Flores Jr., of Su Familia Real Estate, Inc., Amy Hall, of Caton Commercial Real Estate Group, Anthony Hardy, of Keller Williams ONEChicago, Lyle Harlow, of Kale Realty, Kim Kerbis, of @properties Christie’s International Real Estate, John C. Kmiecik, of CENTURY 21 Affiliated, Marki Lemons-Ryhal, of EXIT Strategy Realty, Nick Libert, of EXIT Strategy Realty, Dwight Marroquin, of Neighborhood Loans, Lutalo McGee, of Ani Real Estate, Tracey Royal, of Coldwell Banker Realty, Ayoub Rabah, of Coldwell Banker Realty, Erik Schwab, of Corcoran Urban Real Estate and Vicky Silvano, of Compass.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place Sept. 23 at the association’s 139th Inaugural Gala. The event, to be held at the Hilton Chicago, will also honor various award recipients.

REALTOR® of the Year Award: Nykea Pippion McGriff, Coldwell Banker Realty

REALTOR® Achievement: Matt Difanis, RE/MAX Realty Associates

Commercial Achievement: Moses Hall, MoHall Commercial and Urban Development

REALTOR® Community Service: Lindsay Guhl, @properties | Christie’s International Real Estate

REALTOR® Community Service: Vicky Silvano, COMPASS

Affiliate of the Year: Amir Syed, Guaranteed Rate

Managing Broker of the Year (1-50 Licensees): Perdure Carter, Dream Spots Leasing Inc.

Managing Broker of the Year (51+ Licensees): Lyle Harlow, Kale Realty

Industry Partner Member: Tracey Royal, Coldwell Banker Realty

Brian A. Bernardoni Political Advocacy Award: Matt Silver, Corcoran Urban Real Estate

Brian A. Bernardoni Public Official of the Year Award: Bridget Gainer, Cook County Commissioner, 10th District

In addition to these REALTOR® Award winners, the night will also spotlight Leon I. Walker, this year’s CAR Foundation Hall of Fame inductee. Walker, who is the managing principal of DL3 Realty Advisors, has spent the past 20 years planning and executing community developments in the city’s historically disinvested communities.

“This exceptional group of REALTORS® and industry leaders demonstrates the outstanding work being done in our industry and throughout our Chicago communities by Chicago REALTORS®,” current president Gehrken said in a press release. “We’re excited to honor them during our Inaugural Gala.”

Read More Related to This Post

Join the conversation

New Subscribe

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.