Illinois REALTORS® inducts new leadership officers for 2023

by Emily Mack

Following the association’s Inaugural Gala, Illinois REALTORS® installed its 2023 leadership team during a meeting Sept. 22. Michael Gobber took the reins as Illinois REALTORS® president with Ezekiel “Zeke” Morris transitioning into the role of immediate past president. Next year, Gobber will be succeeded by Matt Silver, the new president-elect. Additionally, Tommy Choi was named treasurer of the association.

Gobber, who is the designated managing broker of Century 21 Affiliated in Westchester, has been in real estate since 1999. Previously, he’s served as president of the Mainstreet Organization of REALTORS® and as a member of the Illinois REALTORS® board of directors. He’s also on the board of directors for the National Association of REALTORS® (NAR) where he is on the 2022 Strategic Planning Committee. In 2021, Gobber was one of just 24 Realtors chosen to partake in NAR’s Leadership Academy.

Gobber is also an active community member of Westchester, serving on the chamber of commerce and various event committees. He lives in Elmhurst with his wife, Michele.

With Gobber’s promotion to president, Silver, a partner and senior broker with Corcoran Urban Real Estate in Chicago, is now president elect for the association.

Silver has been in real estate since 1998 and his career is defined by his political advocacy. He has chaired the REALTORS® Political Involvement Working Group, is the federal political coordinator for Rep. Brad Schneider of the 10th District and, in April, was honored with Political Involvement Award from Illinois REALTORS®. He has also served as president of the Chicago Association of REATLORS® (CAR) and was named 2018 Realtor of the Year by that association. He still serves on CAR’s Audit and Professional Standards committees.

Choi, the new Illinois REALTORS® treasurer, is the co-founder and owner of Weinberg Choi Residential at Keller Williams ONEChicago. Since beginning his career in real estate in 2007, he became the first Korean-American president of CAR in 2019, and in 2020 he was named in Crain’s Chicago Business as one of the publication’s “40 Under 40.” The same year, he was named Realtor of the Year by that association.

At the state level, Choi has served on the Illinois REALTORS® Board of Directors and is a state legislative contact for state Rep. Greg Harris of the 13th District. He is also the federal political coordinator for U.S. Rep. Mike Quigley of the 5th District. He lives on the North Side of the city with his wife, Tesha, and their three daughters.

In addition to the four officers, the 2023 board of directors includes 23 members: Ayn Bartok, Matt Difanis, Linda Dressler, Miguel Fernandez, Brian Kwilosz, John LeTourneau, Carrie J. Little, Mark Massey, Nykea Pippion Mcgriff Sue Miller, Suzanne Miller, Ed Neaves, Michael D. Oldenettel, Debbie Pawlowicz, Matt Persicketti, Tracey Royal, Eddie Ruettiger, Alex Ruggieri, Tim Ryan, Brandon Shaffer, Ginger Sreenan, Nancy Suvarnamani and Rebecca Thomson.

Read More Related to This Post

Join the conversation

New Subscribe

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.