Chicago Has Six New Suburbs Since the Year 2000

by Chicago Agent

Not only are more people living in the suburbs now, there are more suburbs to live in, according to the U.S. Census Bureau data released last week.

Since the 2000 census, Big Rock, Campton Hills, Homer Glen, Kaneville, Millbrook and Plattville incorporated have formed and become official villages. Five of the six new suburbs popped up on the fringes of Will and Kane counties, where most of the suburban growth occurred, according to the Daily Herald.

View of Chicago from Sears Tower

View of Chicago from Sears Tower - By Bruno Ehrs/Corbis

Kaneville, Big Rock and Millbrook are near Aurora, which the census now ranks as Illionois’ second-largest city with nearly 200,000 residents. Plattville is west of Joliet, and Homer Glen is southwest of Orland Park. Campton Hills, which incorporated in 2007, is near Elgin and St. Charles, and 30 miles west of O’Hare International Airport.

There are cons to being the new suburb on the block, however, including legal challenges from people who oppose incorporation, getting the village’s revenue stream up and running, and starting everything from scratch. There are no village codes, no ordinances and no police or fire departments.

The Daily Herald reports that the up side is that residents get to control development within their boundaries, divert the taxes residents pay to help their area, and have their own police department, which provides a higher level of service than they had before.

Read More Related to This Post

Join the conversation

New Subscribe

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.